The Commonwealth wants to remind you that driving without your seat belt on is illegal and can lead to tickets and fines. Nevertheless, PennDOT secretary wants to emphasize that the Click it or Ticket campaign “isn’t about citations, it’s about saving lives.” Keep that in mind when you contest your ticket and the $75 fine plus court costs before the county judge.
With Memorial Day weekend, the unofficial start of the summer travel season, less than two weeks away, the Pennsylvania State Police (PSP) and Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) encourage drivers to be safe on the roads. The agencies will work with municipal police departments and other safety partners across the commonwealth to participate in the national “Click It or Ticket” seat belt enforcement and education initiative from May 13 through June 2, 2019.
“PennDOT Secretary Leslie S. Richards says, “Wearing a seat belt increases your chances of surviving a crash by up to 60 percent. Through continued enforcement and education, we hope to see more people buckling up and fewer fatal crashes on Pennsylvania’s roads.”
Pennsylvania law requires any occupant younger than 18 to buckle up when riding in a vehicle, as well as drivers and front-seat passengers. Children under the age of two must be secured in a rear-facing car seat, and children under the age of four must be restrained in an approved child safety seat. Children must ride in a booster seat until their eighth birthday.
For more information about seat belt safety, click this link.