Six Cheltenham High School Seniors Selected as National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Six seniors from Cheltenham High School were selected as National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalist among the 500 seniors from Pennsylvania, who are among approximately 16,000 students nationwide.  The semifinalists were selected from among more than 1.6 million juniors from about 22,000 high schools who entered the 2019, National Merit Scholarship Program.

This year’s Panther semifinalists and where they’re looking to attend college include Roderick J. Ahrens (Carnegie Mellon, Pittsburgh), Olivia K. Kronick (Drexel, Georgia Tech); Abraham Moss (UChicago; Amherst); Sydney B. Rubin (Vermont, Tufts, Rochester); Benjamin C. Smith (Carnegie Mellon, Pittsburgh, Penn State); and Matthew H. Tran.

National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists must meet the following criteria to be chosen:  outstanding academic record throughout high school be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay and meet SAT scores requirements.

These six seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. More than 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

Students who progress to the semifinalist level must submit an application with their high school that includes: academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership, employment and honors received. Scholars are chosen based on their skills, accomplishments and potential for success in college and receive college scholarships.

The 2019 National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced in four monthly nationwide news releases between April and July. These scholarship recipients will join some 338,000 other distinguished young people who have earned the Merit Scholar title.

Pictured (l to r): CSD Superintendent Dr. Wagner Marseille, Abraham Moss, Benjamin C. Smith, Roderick J. Ahrens, Olivia K. Kronick, Sydney B. Rubin. Not pictured: Matthew H. Tran.