New Firefighters In Cheltenham Township

Eight men have been sworn in as new firefighters for Cheltenham Township.

In the photograph above, from left to right (seated) are Mr. Joseph Stanley, Glenside Fire Company;  Mr. TJ Sylla, La Mott Fire Company;  Mr. Steevens Verneus, La Mott Fire Company;  Mr. Thandenjani Whayo, La Mott Fire Company;  Mr. Michael Zalot, Elkins Park Fire Company;  (in the middle row):  Magisterial District Judge Christopher Cerski;  Mr. Justis Turner, La Mott Fire Company;  Mr. Edward Lannutti, Elkins Park Fire Company;  Commissioner Ann Rappoport;  Mr. Riley Czech, Cheltenham Fire Company;  Commissioner Brad Pranski;  and Commissioner Drew Sharkey;  (in the back row):  Commissioner Baron Holland;  Commissioner Daniel Norris;  Fire Marshal Joseph O’Neill;  Commissioner Mitchell Zygmund-Felt;  and Commissioner Irv Brockington.

“Cheltenham Township’s newest firefighters were sworn in by Magisterial District Judge Christopher J. Cerski at the Cheltenham Township Board of Commissioners’ meeting on October 17, 2018,” according to a statement issued by the Township.

“The eight new volunteer firefighters all recently graduated from the Basic Firefighter Training Academy, which requires 200 hours of classroom sessions, testing and hands-on training before being certified as a firefighter,” the statement continued.

Five fire companies serve Cheltenham Township:  Cheltenham Fire Company, Elkins Park Fire Company, Glenside Fire Company, La Mott Fire Company, and Ogontz Fire Company.



The photograph of the firefighters and officials is courtesy of Cheltenham Township, 2018.