Jefferson Abington’s Dr. Orlando Kirton named President of Philadelphia Academy of Surgery | Dr. Steven Fisher receives Catherine P. Zakrzewski Making a Difference Award

Two physicians at Jefferson Abington Hospital have made headlines this week.

Dr. Orlando C. Kirton

Orlando C. Kirton, MD, FACS, MCCM, FCCP, MBA, Chair and Surgeon-in-Chief, Department of Surgery, Jefferson Abington Hospital, has been appointed President of the Philadelphia Academy of Surgery.

Board-certified in both Surgery and Surgical Critical Care, Dr. Kirton has led Jefferson Abington Hospital’s surgical program since 2016. He also serves as Professor of Surgery, Sidney Kimmel Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University.

Dr. Kirton previously served in the United States Army Reserve Medical Corps, where he earned the rank of Major. Throughout his career, Dr. Kirton has held leadership roles for several medical societies and associations, including the Society of Black Academic Surgeons, the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma and the Society of Critical Care Medicine. He has received numerous teaching awards and has published more than 200 peer-reviewed manuscripts, book chapters and abstracts on surgical critical care, trauma and surgical education.

Dr. Kirton earned his Bachelor of Arts degree in Biochemistry from Brown University and his medical degree at Harvard University. He completed his internship and residency at SUNY Health Center in Brooklyn, New York and his fellowship in Surgical Critical Care and Surgery of Trauma at Jackson Memorial Medical Center. Dr. Kirton earned his Master of Business Administration from the University of Tennessee.

The Philadelphia Academy of Surgery is the oldest continuously meeting surgical society in the United States and was founded in 1879 by Samuel D. Gross, MD, former Chair of Surgery at Jefferson Medical College.

Dr. Steven Fisher

In related news, Dr. Steven Fisher, Chair of Emergency Medicine at Jefferson Abington Hospital, was recently recognized with the 2024 Catherine P. Zakrzewski Making a Difference Award.

The award was presented during the 17th Annual Julius Scher Patient Safety Lectureship. Dr. Fisher was honored for his exemplary leadership and continuous commitment to enhancing patient safety and quality.

For all the latest news, follow us on Facebook or sign up for Glenside Local’s “Daily Buzz” newsletter here.

Photos: Jefferson Health Abington